No if’s, and’s, or but’s

January 17, 2013

So I was at the dentist office for a cleaning this morning… Of course the nice woman who cleaned my teeth asked what I do and what I went to school for. When I replied with “Journalism,” she said “Oh, that’s what I wanted to do, but my dentistry program was only two years so I picked that instead.”

I feel like I hear this all the time. “Well, that’s what I wanted to do, but…”

I mean, you can’t blame them. Sometimes life deals you a hand where you can’t just do whatever you want. Journalism is a very difficult field to break into. I’m still struggling to find a full-time job and have began to resort to applying for jobs that I don’t want. Sooner or later, you realize it’s time to move out, support yourself, pay your own bills, etc. Frolicking around the field of Journalism gets tiring… I truly wonder how many people out there don’t get to do what they really want to do because life responsibilities get in the way… millions I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

